Finalists revealed for Inflight Asia-Pacific 2018 Awards

With the Inflight Asia-Pacific event just two weeks away, shortlisted finalists for the Inflight Awards have been announced.

The Inflight Awards recognise notable regional achievements from across the cabin interiors spectrum. Each of the seven categories have been judged independently by a panel of leading industry experts, who aim to honour outstanding in-flight entertainment, connectivity and cabin technology service offerings over the past 12 months.

The awards are open to airlines and suppliers directly serving passengers across the Asia-Pacific network. As anticipated in such a rapidly-evolving region, judges received numerous high-quality nominations across the board, making it a difficult task to narrow down a shortlist for each category. Eyes will be drawn to the prestigious Inflight airline of the year category, with six major carriers battling it out for the headline prize.

AirAsia, Singapore Airlines and SriLankan Airlines are all nominated for multiple categories and will carry high hopes of walking away with a striking Inflight trophy. Previous Inflight Asia-Pacific award winners are also well-represented in the shortlists. There are, of course, an array of newcomers to the Inflight Awards who will provide stiff competition.

Inflight Asia-Pacific is co-located with Aviation Week’s Commercial Aviation Services Asia-Pacific event, offering a dedicated regional forum for cabin interiors technology. The awards ceremony will begin at 14:10 SGT on Thursday 8 November, located in the Inflight Workshop arena in Singapore Expo Convention and Exhibition Centre. Along with all Inflight Workshop sessions throughout the day, the ceremony is free to attend for all Commercial Aviation Services Asia-Pacific delegates.

Event schedule:

Day one: Wednesday 7 November 2018

10.45: Welcome address

11.00-11.45: Session 1 – Satellite communications

12.00-12.45: Session 2 – Intelligence: Designing for ultra-long-haul

13.45-14.30: Session 3 – Seating

14.45-15.30: Session 4 – Deploying IFE


Day two: Thursday 8 November 2018

10.45-11.30: Session 5 – Connectivity

11.45-12.30: Session 6 – Intelligence: IFEC market forecasts

13.15-14.00: Session 7 – Ancillary revenues

14.10: Inflight Asia-Pacific Awards ceremony


Those unable to join the Inflight team in Singapore can follow proceedings live on Twitter (@inflightmag, #InflightAP), with the winners announced immediately afterwards on

Finalists by category:

Inflight airline of the year

  • AirAsia
  • Air New Zealand
  • EL AL Israel Airlines
  • Singapore Airlines
  • SriLankan Airlines
  • Virgin Australia

Commercial airline cabin

  • EL AL Israel Airlines
  • Hong Kong Airlines
  • Qantas
  • Singapore Airlines
  • SriLankan Airlines

IFE system provider

  • Bluebox Aviation Systems
  • Global Eagle
  • Rokki (AirAsia)
  • Thales
  • Zodiac Inflight Innovations

Connectivity enablement

  • Alethea Communications Technologies
  • Global Eagle
  • Inmarsat
  • Panasonic Avionics
  • Viasat

Airline IFEC experience

  • AirAsia (Rokki)
  • EL AL Israel Airlines
  • Qatar Airways
  • Singapore Airlines
  • SriLankan Airlines

Content provision

  • Emphasis Video Entertainment
  • Encore Inflight
  • Global Eagle
  • Images in Motion
  • IMG
  • Inflight Dublin

Supplier innovation

  • Alethea Communications Technologies
  • Global ONE Media
  • IMM Digital
  • Panasonic Avionics
  • VT Miltope

For more information on the Inflight Asia-Pacific event and to register for free to attend, visit our event website.

You may be interested in...

« Back to News